MARCUS MILLER: SOLO BASS WIZARDRY!

Marcus Miller – Scoop

=================================================================================

BIO:

b. 11th June, 1959 in Brooklyn, New York, U.S.A. Marcus Miller has built himself a reputation as one of the finest jazz / r & b bass players in the business. He was initially discovered in the mid-70’s by Lonnie Liston Smith, who employed him at various gigs. Marcus embarked on a string of session work with artists including Bernard Wright, Tom Browne (‘Funkin’ For Jamaica’), The Brecker Brothers, Bob James (for whom he has also written), Charles Earland and eventually Luther Vandross. He has also written, produced and recorded for Aretha Franklin, Dionne Warwick, David Sanborn, Bernard Wright, Steven Dante, Roberta Flack, the late Grover Washington and Joe Sample (‘Strike Two’)among many others.

======================================================

MARCUS MILLER ON JACO PASTORIUS:

I was around 15 years old and a drummer friend of mine told me I had to check this record out. It was Jaco’s first album. The first thing I heard was “Donna Lee”. I have to admit, I didn’t quite get it. It just sounded like some cat playing whatever notes he felt like. I was just learning about jazz and hadn’t progressed in my own development to where I could even begin to comprehend what Jaco was doing. But this guy was obviously good so I got the record for myself and began to really listen to it.

It stayed on my turntable for around two years.

FOR MORE CLICK HERE:

=========================================================================================

TUTU:

marcusmillertutusheet2.jpg

~ by Dudegotchops on October 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
